The Soul’s Journey – Reflections on Grace

April 9, 2024

Amazing Grace! How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me,

I once was lost, but now am found

Was blind, but now I see.

I have always loved this refrain. From my days as a young evangelical Christian, believing that we were saved by the blood of Jesus, to my senior years, 70 years later, I am still beguiled, mostly by the exquisite melody. Today I explored renditions on YouTube from gospel to bagpipes, Andrea Bocelli to a group called Celtic Woman that combined vocal, bagpipes and a full orchestra. This rendition had over 92 million views. I am not alone!

My perspective on the word Grace has modified many times over the years. The more religious, traditional definition “divine assistance, being saved, a state of sanctification, a virtue from God” has mostly evaporated like a morning mist. I became more attached to the concept of “elegance, refinement and courteous goodwill.” (Merriam-Webster dictionary).

Frequently, when I walk in the countryside of North Devon, I walk beside fields bordered by what looks like grimy, algae filled ditches, yet I will invariably encounter one or two beautiful, graceful swans that regardless of surroundings are the epitome of charm and beauty. To me grace flows elegantly, has a dignity and refinement. I find palm trees swaying in a tropical breeze graceful, there are graceful sports such as skiing and roller blading. Grace also seems to me to carry joy. The world would be poorer without grace which I think enriches us.

Yet there are other perspectives to grace that I have come to appreciate. Eminent Jungian analyst and author James Hollis suggests that “ Grace obliges the strength of character which enables us to forgive ourselves and others for stupidity, cruel, ignorance, narcissism, and inattentiveness.”

Then the teachings of theologian and philosopher Paul Tillich who suggested, “. Grace is being accepted even though you are unacceptable.” Both perspectives suggest grace is a gift not only from an external perception but from an inner perspective as well.

A friend of mine offered the perspective on grace as a benediction, gift, offering, often unexpected and maybe undeserved which aligns with Paul Tillich. This resonates with me as reflecting on my life it seems to have been guided by events beyond my control that shaped it. Perhaps I now see them as somewhat metaphysical, perhaps spiritual and more aligned with the theme of the lyrics. They form part of this mystery we call life.

As I think back on the amazing journey I have experienced over the past 79 years, I can see moments when life brought me what seems undeserved positive experiences that helped shape the future.

⁃ an unexpected psychic encounter that reshaped my worldview.

⁃ The teachers that crossed my path at exactly the perfect times.

⁃ The fellow travellers on this amazing journey who are always there for me.

⁃ The dreams, signs, serendipity and synchronicities that emerge unexpectedly to guide my path.

My grandma used to sing, “Count your blessings, name them one by one”. A lovely practice that still has relevance today. The grace I experience seems far more significant than the “saving, one dimensional grace of my childhood”. It seems more adult; it results in me taking more responsibility and finding direction to my life. As the wonderful graceful poet Hafiz wrote “ now is the time for you to compute the impossibility that there is anything but grace.”

.