The Souls Journey – The Difference Between a Walk and a Pilgrimage

The End of The Pilgrimage

I had never expected to be in Spain this year, let alone be walking a pilgrimage on the Camino yet here I was. It had all started with my twin great-nieces deciding to get married the same year in Toronto within six weeks of each other. The thought of travelling the 2200 km each way, from Vancouver, twice in such a short period of time seemed both tiresome and inconvenient. Yet I could not consider going to one wedding without the other. The idea of exploring other destinations at the same time entered my head – New York, Quebec, Newfoundland but nothing resonated. Then my friend Sally from Australia contacted me to say she was booking a sailing trip to the Mediterranean and was I interested in meeting up. A light seemed to go on in my brain. “Spain”! Last year I had toured Italy, Sally and I had explored Crete but the one major European country that had escaped me thus far was Spain.

So the seed was sown.

She responded affirmatively to the idea but could only spare eleven days. We agreed to focus on Andalusia – visiting Valencia, Madrid, Cordoba and Granada. I needed to be in Toronto by the June 26th but planned to leave Vancouver May 28th. What should I do with the rest of the time? I could get a convenient flight to Barcelona so would set off from there. I had always wanted to see the Guggenheim Museum, which was in Bilbao and then I realized I would be adjacent to the Camino de Santiago, another goal that I had aspired to but never expected to realize. Most sections seemed too long, many were too remote, some parts too severe.

I pondered what I could safely handle at 79. Finally I settled on five night self-guided pilgrimage that would involve 80 km over four days and was rated moderate on the hiking scale. It would take me from Santiago de Compostela to Finisterre on the Atlantic coast.Somewhat hesitantly I signed up, the die was cast. I have written extensively about the outer experience on my travel blog; the focus for this piece is the inner journey.

1) In the literature provided to me by the tour company, they asked the question, “how do you differentiate a four day walk from a four day pilgrimage?” I pondered this and decided that walking is about the outer experience, whereas the pilgrimage brings the inner experience into focus.

2) Getting lost is a salutary yet informative experience. I began by getting totally and what appeared to be irrevocably lost. Despite all the aids I had to help me: directions, maps, Google, – they all failed me. The lesson I learned – maintain equanimity and in the end trust your intuition.

3) Once on track again, I realized that all I really needed was the excellent signage system on the trail bringing me once again to a key theme of my life – “Follow The Signs”.

4) Setting a clear intention facilitates the process of exploring the inner landscape. From day 2 on, I affirmed, “I am open and receptive to the inner spirit of guidance”. I would interchange this with reciting poetry and chanting.

5) I noticed that getting lost, fatigue, aching shoulders and back, combined with overall exhaustion basically inhibited any reflection on the inner journey. It became a case of trudging on. As Stephen Dunn’s wonderful poem Before You Leave observes, “trudge on, in the higher regions where footing is unsure, to trudge is to survive.” Sometimes it’s just about getting through.

6) It became crystal clear that the events of my life had conspired to bring me to this place at this time. By paying attention and following the signs I had this wonderful opportunity.

7) This created a clarity and affirmation that this is the the key to my current and ongoing life – to trust the signs, synchronicities, dreams and insights that emerge and represent the spirit of guidance. The magnificent words of Julian of Norwich come to mind – “All shall be well. All shall be well. All manner of things shall be well.”

8) Each day in the morning I experienced a state of joy, contentment and well-being that would get me through the rest of the day when aches, pains and soreness began to be ever present.

9) I felt an increased confidence and trust in my capability to undertake such adventures; at least while my will and my body supported me.

Standing at the Camino signpost at Cape Finisterre I experienced amazing gratitude for the opportunity to complete this pilgrimage, the clarity that emerged and for my fellow pilgrims Julia and Paolo who I met on the road and both affirmed and supported me along the way.

Fellow Pilgrims

.

Leave a comment