The Languages of Inner Wisdom

My reflections on DecisionClarity were almost immediately tested. Someone wanted me to work with her on a decision with which she was wrestling. In our preliminary discussion I noticed some resistance on my part because she professed to be an atheist and did not relate to Soul. However despite reminding her that I was a spiritual coach, she was persistent so we set up an appointment. It became an excellent reminder for me about finding an appropriate language to describe our innate ability to solve decisions a deeper level. It became clear that words such as Soul, Higher Self and Intuition did not work for her. For a moment I felt bemused about where to go next before I recalled a fourth language I refer to when I present on DecisionClarity – the sub-conscious brain. A part of our right hemisphere that can solve problems while we are not aware.

The initial model for Decision-making that I developed was limited to exploring the three concepts of intuition, universal guidance and the higher self, but a rude awakening compelled me to explore further.  In one decision-making seminar I noticed a participant completely lose interest in my presentation.  It was as though his body stayed in the room but the rest of him moved on.  It was painful to observe.  I felt like a shepherd guarding a flock of sheep while one wanders away, with no means to bring it back because of my responsibility to the others.  So I suffered, sensing that his feedback would be devastating.  And indeed he lived up to my expectations in describing my presentation as, “an absolute waste of time and should be eliminated from the program.”

Although I felt sad I had failed so dismally with one person, I knew that somewhere in this debacle was a gift.  I turned it over to my own inner guide and then laughed out loud at the insight that came to me.  Fifteen years ago I would have been that man making the same dismissive observation about my own presentation.  At that time in my life I would have been unable to relate to any of the concepts for inner wisdom.  I would have considered the presenter to be from some strange new age cult and dismissed anything he had to say as cosmic fluff.  Now my task became more clearly defined.  What could I have said to myself fifteen years ago about inner wisdom that could have made some sense?

Suddenly I remembered an amazing shift in my life that had occurred long before I developed any understanding of my inner senses.  My company had arranged a workshop called Rediscover Your Brain, facilitated by a wonderful woman named Geil Browning of the Browning Institute.  As part of this process, she introduced me to the idea that biologically our brain contains the ability to process information unconsciously.  This was particularly intriguing to me.  As someone who was already over-stretched in his or her conscious mind, the idea of also working subconsciously was an exciting way to increase my productivity.  I decided to test out this novel theory.  Part of my job was to analyze and prepare reports of research studies.  Usually I would collect all the data then sort, sift, prioritize and painstakingly develop my conclusions.  This time I decided to put my subconscious brain to work.  After completing the data collection I then released the project, somewhat sceptically I will admit, to my unconscious. About one week later as I was jogging around Vancouver’s seawall I noticed, to my amazement, the framework of the report appeared complete in my mind.  My unconscious had delivered.  It was only recently I realized this had resulted in “the faculty of knowing without the use of rational process” which of course matches the dictionary definition of intuition.  We seem to be hard-wired for intuition.

Facilitating the unconscious brain to sort information, and solve problems became the fourth perspective for consideration in the decision-making process and I sensed that this expanded the relevance of inner knowing to a wider audience. I realized, however, there was yet another gift as a result of this exploration. This particular model of understanding the brain had even greater application to the decision-making process.

Leave a Reply

