You Snooze, You Lose – stories about intuition.

I am wide awake; the bedside clock says 3.00 am; I feel a little annoyed as I have to be up early anyway to catch a flight; I notice some angst about being deprived of sleep but turn on my back, take a deep breath and begin to practice some mindfulness meditation. “Breathing in I calm body and mind, breathing out I am at peace.” Then akin to a lightening bolt penetrating my brain I know why I am awake; I have set the alarm for the wrong time. I check and sure enough had I not realized I probably would either have missed my flight or been in a major panic attempting – likely both.

So what happened? My conscious self had felt completely content that the alarm had been set for the correct time yet at some other level of consciousness I knew I had miscalculated. Intuition is a fascinating gift that works in mysterious ways. We are all intuitive many of us either lose touch with these faculties or don’t know when to trust them. Carl Jung would suggest that intuition is perception via the unconscious. The Oxford dictionary defines intuition as being able “to understand something instinctively, without the need for conscious reasoning:” I have found no good scientific explanation but my understanding is that the right hemisphere of our brain has the capacity to process data without us necessarily being aware. However we have to be paying attention to the clues.

A friend of mine woke up last night with a dream that the clocks in her house were wrong. In the dream she was discussing with her father the probability of a power failure when she realized that her clock was battery operated. Then she realized that two of the clocks in the house were wrong but one was right. She felt too sleepy to process the dream and drifted back to sleep only to be awakened by her husband twenty minutes after the alarm should have gone off. In some panic as she had an early morning meeting that she was chairing, she leapt into an alert state wondering how this had happened. Only later did she connect the dream to the fact that she had set the alarm for p.m. not a.m.

One of the keys to working intuitively is to pay attention or we can miss the cues. Fortunately my friend has a husband with a superb intuitive clock. I live alone and have no such luxury to depend on.

During 2012 I am offering an evening each month to “Train Your Intuition”. The first one is next Monday January 23rd. For more details see https://ta44.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/train-your-intuition/

Leave a Reply

