Reflections on Time 3 – The Amazing Runes

The logical mind flinches at the prospect of an inanimate object like a rune stone containing wisdom of future events yet time and time again I have observed this to be true. How does it work? Frankly I have no idea however when we consider how many things that we take for granted today like iPads and mobile phones that would have been considered magic only a century or so ago, perhaps in the future we will. For the moment I can suggest the answer lies in quantum reality; at some level everything is vibrating subatomic particles; perhaps there is a connection that can occur at an energetic level between the soul and the rune.

Runes are symbols derived from the Runic alphabet, used by early Norse peoples, the runes have no clear origin as an oracle although the word “rune” derives from the Gothic word “runa,” meaning “mystery.”  Their popularity today stems significantly from the work done by Ralph Blum, who dedicated himself to the re-introduction of this “sacred oracle.”   He suggests that runes assist “training of sacred Intuition – a new way of listening to the inner voice.”  I find runes particularly helpful to pinpoint error in my assumptions; they help me see when the ego has taken control;  I also find them inordinately helpful when I am feeling confused and particularly for transportation plans. I never book a trip without drawing a rune first – seeking a simple yes or no.

For example I was planning a two-week driving trip and suddenly ran into obstacles in organizing it. My primary resource when faced with this type of confusion is to draw a rune. Occasionally when I am feeling pissed at not getting my own way I will draw two, on this occasion I drew three, each one advising me to change my plans. As a result I shortened my trip and by being home early was available to meet with two new clients. When I book an airfare I will normally bring the airfare up on my computer screen and not press “book” until the runes give their blessing. I saved $300 on my airfare to Toronto last Christmas by waiting to purchase until the rune said yes.

However recently I had one of those awe inspiring moments that prompted me to write this piece. I had been invited by a friend in Seattle to a small party to celebrate her retirement. I accepted and said I would come down by train. I pulled up Amtrak and found a fare of $68 return, way cheaper than driving. I hesitated before buying to draw a rune and to my irritation I got “Constraint”. Because I have developed such confidence in this oracle I decided it would do no harm to wait. A couple of days later I again checked the fare, to my annoyance it had increased to $72 but once again the rune said “Standstill”. I waited two more days before trying again and this time the rune was

Hagalaz - the rune of disruption

“Disruption”. I gave up and e-mailed my friend, “I have had an interested time with the runes and my proposed visit. Three times I have gone to book my train and drawn a rune to check-in. So far I have got Constraint, Standstill and today Disruption. Too weird. I guess I will wait on the will of heaven.” Fortunately she relates to my strangeness and was totally understanding. Imagine my incredulity when she called three weeks later to cancel the party because three of her close friends had been unable to make the occasion. Somehow this knowledge beyond my conscious state was known at a soul level and manifested in the runes I drew. It reminds me of the statement by Hamlet, ‘There are more things in heaven and on earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.” Perhaps we just have to expand our horizons.

Leave a Reply

