Honouring the Story and the Journey

I love Thich Nhat Hanh’s beautiful reflection that honours life so fully.

“I wake up each morning and I smile
Twenty-four brand new hours are before me
I vow to live fully in each moment
And look at all beings with eyes of compassion”

So what does it look like to live fully in each moment. To do this I try to engage mind, emotions, my physical being, my heart and my soul in a meaningful way each day. I live a very spacious life which has given me the opportunity to explore this. So every day I try and do something that honours every aspect of who I am. For the body I try to stretch and do some form of exercise. Because I have had to give up jogging, it means some combination of cycling, the gym or walking. My soul is honoured through a morning meditation practice and my soul dialogue. My mind is indulged through reading, an occasion game of Sudoku and by writing. My emotions are engaged through music, through encountering real life experience like Erica Gruell’s amazing work with the Freedom Writers or Ian Brown’s amazing reflections in the Globe and Mail on his life with a disabled son. And I look for some opportunity to support or help someone else in my life. Then of course I try and find some time to play. (This is easy for me and I have to be conscious that play does not distract me too much from my desire to live consciously.) My prayer each morning is that my soul will fulfill its highest expression in this incarnation. I would hate to reach the end of the journey to find I have missed the reason I got on the train in the first place.

Leave a Reply

