Popeye Meditation

A friend and I recently completed a wager for $250.00 that she would meditate every day for a year and I would soul journal at least three times a week. At the end of the year we celebrate with some special occasion assuming we both achieved our goal. This could range from a spa day to going zip treking although the more I think about that, the less of a celebration it seems. That should probably be the penalty for failure. After the first week she started to complain that nothing had happened yet and that she wasn’t sure meditation was making any difference. “After I run I can feel it doing some good” she explained. I laughed at the image that entered my mind. It was of Popeye meditation where it works like a can of the magical spinach. After you down it your spiritual muscles start rippling and the effect is immediate. My experience is that the reason meditation is called a practice is because you have to practice it. I started in 1992 and recall how challenged I was for many years. It was only after a meditation workshop when I heard Deepak Chopra say “Until you make meditation the number one priority in the day you will never successfully maintain a practice” that I was able to be really consistent.
Over the years through personal experience and some research I have developed some key conclusions about meditation:
1) It helps to reduce stress. Jon Kabat Zinn has successfully pioneered mindfulness as a stress reducing technique at his Stress Reduction Clinic and the Center for Mindfulness  at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.
2) It helps to stimulate your immune system. A study conducted in 2003 suggested that meditation may change brain and immune function in positive ways.
3) It facilitates your intuitive guidance system. It took time but I found a tremendous increase in synchronicity and intuitive activity.
4) It opens you up to spiritual experience. I found this aspect the most noticeable. It was though like the monolith in the movie 2001 A Space Odyssey meditation transmitted a signal to the universe to open me up to new experiences.
As Ken Wilbur says the only proof is in trying the experiment.

Leave a Reply

